While some motor vehicle laws are consistent from place to place, many are different depending on the state or even the city that you live in. In some cases, there may be laws on the books that you didn’t even know of because they aren’t properly enforced. What does Texas law have to say about front and rear license plates? We break it down below.
[Read More: Is the temperature sensor on my car accurate?]
What Does Texas Law Say About Front and Rear License Plates?
Two Plates Are A Must
While there are a few states that let drivers off of the hook for a front license plate, Texas isn’t one of them. Drivers in Texas caught without a front license plate may face a fine of up to $200.
Must Be Readable
Both the front and rear license plates on your vehicle need to be easily readable. The rear plate must be illuminated at night and both need to be visible from at least 50 feet. If your license plate is too worn to read clearly, you will need a replacement.
Rear Plate Must Have Registration Sticker
Along with readable letters and numbers and illumination at night, your rear license plate must also have an up-to-date registration sticker. If the sticker falls off or hasn’t been updated in time, drivers chance getting pulled over and fined.
This blog is for informational purposes only. For a more in-depth understanding of the laws in your state or city, please contact your local law enforcement team.
The Texas Motor Club blog is your go-to source for automotive news, tips and tricks, and local events in and around the Dallas/Fort Worth area. Stay awhile and look around or come visit us in person to search for a vehicle upgrade!